Song By Song Review: Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life

A few bands I like have released new albums lately so I, Katherine, have decided to do a few posts reviewing the each song on the album. The first is the latest album from one of my top three favourite bands, The Wombats’ Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life.

I’ll start by saying I absolutely love the album art of this album. I am a huge fan of snakes (ever since my days of watching Snakes on a Plane on a daily basis) and the floral additions are very nice.

Cheetah Tongue – 2/5

The first track of the album is fairly lowkey. While the chorus is nice, it’s a fairly mellow start from a band I typically go to for “dancing around in my underwear” music.

Lemon to a Knife Fight – 3 /5

The tempo picks up a bit for the second track, however it maintains the mellow tone of the first song. It is a song I can see growing on me.

Turn – 1/5

Three songs in. Still no urge to get up and dance like crazy. Not even any particularly catchy lyrics.

Black Flamingo – 4/5

“I want to love you but it hurts hurts hurts” is v ery relatable. I’m definitely feeling this one.

White Eyes – 4/5

This one has some clever lyrics I will definitely have fun belting out in the shower once I’ve learned them.

Lethal Combination – 3/5

This gives me a dreamy vibe and I’m digging the consistent beat.

Out of My Head – 1/5

The return of the mellow songs that cannot hold my interest.

I Only Wear Black  – 1/5

I am so here for the song name. Unfortunately you can’t judge a song by the title because that’s wear my enjoyment ends.

Ice Cream –  1/5

This song bored me so much I walked out of the room to get ice cream. So subliminal messaging win?

Dip You In Honey – 1/5

I Don’t Know Why I Like You But I Do – 1/5

Where are my dance songs, The Wombats? The only way I’m dancing to any of these is to celebrate the irony. Everything is going wrong and I’m not happy. There’s some sing in the shower songs, but overall I miss Tales of Loss, Love, and Desperation era Wombats.