Top 5 Bands – Katherine Week

Welcome to Katherine Week here on Too Canadian. In honour of my birthday this Thursday, I will be posting about my favourite things all week. As today is Music Monday, we will celebrate today with a round up of my favourite bands, not including musical casts.

5. The Wombats

The Wombats can sing about the most depressing things while being fun and upbeat which is a real talent and definitely up my alley. Their songs can also be quite anecdotal, which is another aspect that I appreciate in a song. My favourite track of theirs is Girls/Fast Cars. I can definitely identify with liking girls and fast cars because I love both those things.

4. Rammstein

I was introduced to this band by a guy I had a crush on in high school. The crush ended badly, my enjoyment of the band never faded. It is loud and aggressive and it is probably a good idea I don’t understand what they are saying. However, it is perfect for those mornings you hate everything and just need something to drown out the world for a bit.

WARNING: GRAPHIC CONTENT

3. Louis XIV

Louis XIV is super fun. They combine really cool instrumentation with interesting, if inappropriate lyrics, for an overall great sound.

2. Mother Mother

Surprisingly a Canadian band actually makes it into my top five and nabs the high number two spot. Mother Mother’s early stuff tends on the slow side for me but they made up for it with some really cool and interesting lyrics. As there career progresses, the music gets faster, more interesting, and more up my alley.

1. Natalie Portman’s Shaved Head/Brite Futures

And lastly, the band formerly known as Natalie Portman’s Shaved Head and also Brite Futures because changing their name didn’t prevent them from breaking up. I love their songs for being fun and anecdotal and just amazing.

As a lover of one hit wonders, choosing my five favourite bands was tough but there you go. Five bands I heartily recommend. Join me tomorrow for my Top Five Books.